top of page

How it all started


It's a rainy spring evening... I'm just back from my weekly japanese class. I realize that after more than a year of learning, my reading, listening and speaking abilities in japanese are abysmal. Something's gotta happen!

Thank god - there is an app for everything! What was it again I saw recently? Hello Talk? Let's see...

3 minutes later, the app was installed and my profile was created. A quick scan and the app presents me a list of possible language buddies.

Yes, Hello Talk - in case you don't know - is a "language-tandem"-app. It proposes you language buddies based on your language you would like to learn and you can offer to teach.

So naturally the app would offer me only japanese people as only they can really offer japanese as a teacher. I picked the first lady in the list, not really checking in detail her profile etc. In Japan most people do not use their own pic as profile picture anyway. And since looks will not decide about my choice for a buddy - why bothering to check in the first place, right?

So, here is my first message to the user "Pinopino" - a user that will change my life quite a bit ^^...

Now, if you want to know how this all ended up - keep on watching! I promise you to share some really funny, interesting and maybe also strange moments with you. I plan on writing articles about the past 3 years and what currently happens - alternating if possible in order to keep you a bit updated what's going on around here.

See you soon!

M

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page