top of page

Youkoso!

It took us a good hour to fly from Osaka to Kagoshima. Before you arrive in Kagoshima, you fly over the Kagoshima Bay which will offer you a breathtaking view of one of Japan’s most active volcano, Sakurajima. See the picture above. In reality it's even more beautiful!

The volcano itself is more or less constantly active – showing off some fumes coming out of one of his side smokestacks.

1914 was a very strong eruption which connected the island of Sakurajima with the Ousumi peninsula of Kyushu. This is why one can drive to the Island over a bridge nowadays.

After having arrived in Kagoshima we took the highway bus to Miyakonojo – the city where my wife lived at that time.

Arriving at her home was quite emotional – for all of us! Her mom and her kids where already quite “dokidoki” to see that Gaikokujin who was supposed to arrive…

And of course my wife and me were also very excited. Now – I won’t go into details here – but one thing remains in my mind:

Later in the evening (we arrived around early afternoon), the son of my wife (7 years) asked me if I would like to take a shower. With him. Ah sou ka!

No need to say – I did not see that one coming! But after a split second (of not thinking) I said: Sure!

It turned out that he really likes to take a shower and he just assumed he would like to take one too after such a long flight ;-) Considering the fact we just met – quite a step forward!

During the following days we made some nice excursions – one of being a trip to the famous “Kirishima Shrine”. As you can see on the picture, it’s a Shinto Shrine with all its beautiful red and black colored decorations.

Now - if you haven't been to a shrine - it's a bit different to what you may be used when going to a church.

First - there are Kind of sales outlets where little talisman are sold. Or you can buy some little wooden plates on which you can write a wish. You then would hang up this little plate to one of many places provided just for this purpose.

Then just before you do your prayer you will throw some coins into a kind of vat just in front of you.

You do not enter any building - all this happens basically "outside".

Now, you may argue that this looks a bit materialistic, no?

Well, the japanese do not pay any "church taxes". The shrines (Shinto) and temples (Buddhists) have basically to finance themselves with this. If I compare the amount of church tax I pay to what I would spend in Japan if I would go once per month to the shrine - well - GOOD DEAL!! Not to mention that I haven't been in a church to a ceremony for maybe more than 15 years... I really have to consider to stop that church stuff and donate that to somebody who really can make a good use of it.

Speaking of good use... If you ever want to make a donation that directly benefits people who need it most - you may consider making a donation to Shige san (http://en.rocketnews24.com/2015/07/17/retired-japanese-man-who-saved-over-500-from-suicide-to-become-star-of-worldwide-documentary/)

Shige san is a retired police officer who so far saved hundreds of people from killing themselves on the cliffs of Tojinbo.

He now has around 80 people who assist him in helping those who don't know how to go on by themselves.

Back to 2014... Some days later we went to see Udo Shrine – a shrine located directly at the shores of the pacific ocean – within a large cave.

Inside you will find the shrine itself. Alongside the walls are some little statues of animals such as a rabbit et al.

My mother in law made me caress the back of the rabbit - saying that this will bring some luck and good health.

What? Who yelled "superstition" in the background? ^^

Of course I gave the rabbit a nice backscrub - you never know ne!

There is also a kind of “fortune game” where you are supposed to throw little stones into a kind of pool down the beach. It provides good karma. They say.

Women get to throw with their right arms – men with their left ones. I missed every shot ^^…

After having messed up my karma for at least the next 10 years, we decided to have a brief look at another famous spot called “Sun Messe Nichinan”. It’s a location where some replica of the famous Moai Statues from the Easter Islands.

You “could” actually walk around this area. But the area is not exactly “flat terrain”, soo… My wife and her family quickly located some “Golf Caddies” that were on rent – so guess what? But it turned out to be great fun and we could go up all the way to the top and had a beautiful view over the whole location!

Next time we will have a look at our recent trip from Japan to Switzerland when my wife and kids finally moved to Switzerland. Follow us first to Osaka, then to a 3 day's stop in Dubai and our Arrival here in the "Land of Cheese and the numbered bank accounts" ;-)

Yours

M.

P.S.: I am not mentioning any names as I want to respect my wifes wish to remain anonymous. This is mainly for kids protection. I can see her point and am sure you will not mind either.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page